Skip to main content


Showing posts from January, 2015

Chase Elliott to Replace Jeff Gordon In 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet For 2016

Photo Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images for Texas Motor Speedway Surprising the motorsport world by announcing the end of his prosperous NASCAR career after 2015, Jeff Gordon was set to leave one of the top rides in the Sprint Cup series vacant ahead as of 2016. With only a week passing since Gordon's breaking retirement news , Hendrick Motorsports quickly defined the replacement pilot for the #24 Chevrolet by making a similar choice as 23 years ago in a youthful rising star. In a predictable move following the retirement announcement of Jeff Gordon, Hendrick Motorsports named reigning champion of the NASCAR Xfinity Series (last year called the Nationwide Series) Chase Elliott as the future driver of the #24 Chevrolet. At 19 years old, Elliott became the youngest champion of the NASCAR ladder series and accumulated three wins in the process during his freshman year of competition with the cars. Also the 2014 Sunoco Rookie of the Year, the Dawsonville, Georgia native drove

Jeff Gordon Declares 2015 NASCAR Season Will Be Last Behind Wheel

Photo Credit: Hendrick Motorsports Dale Earnhardt coined him 'Wonder Boy'; some called him the 'Rainbow Warrior'; no nickname has really stuck despite his constant appearance in the NASCAR Cup series for the past 22 seasons. Fans of the #24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet identify him as their favourite athlete; A strong anti-fan base over the years has called him much worse things. For 2015, we will all acknowledge Jeff Gordon for the final time as an active full-time driver in NASCAR Sprint Cup competition. On Thursday, an announcement affirmed that 43-year-old Jeff Gordon will be stepping out of the driver's seat of stock car competition after one more season. Winning the NASCAR Winston Cup (now Sprint Cup) four times in his career, Gordon took his #24 Chevrolet to victory on 93 occasions so far (most of those races driving a multi-coloured car sponsored by Dupont). Third all-time in race wins since 1949 behind Richard Petty and David Pearson, Jeff Gordon

Entry List for 2015 Rolex 24 at Daytona

Photo Credit: 304060LAT Photo USA for IMSA   Prototype Class Car # Drivers Race Organization Sponsor Car Type Engine 0 Memo Rojas / Mexico City, Mexico Claro / TracFone DeltaWing Racing Claro / TracFone DeltaWing DWC13 Elan Katherine Legge / Guildford, United Kingdom Gabby Chaves / Bogota, Colombia Andy Meyrick / Cheshire, England 1 Scott Sharp / West Palm Beach, FL Tequila Patron ESM Tequila Patron Honda HPD ARX Honda Ryan Dalziel / Orlando, FL David Heinemeier Hansson / Copenhagen, Denmark 2 Ed Brown / Boca Raton, FL Tequila Patron ESM Tequila Patro