Skip to main content

Herta Wins Long Beach Grand Prix; Palou Crowned Series Champion

Photo Credit: Chris Owens/IndyCar


After 15 rounds of elite open wheel racing, the NTT IndyCar Series’ 2021 season conclusion comes down to 85 laps on the 1.968-mile race course assembled through the streets of Long Beach. While every single competitor in the 28-car field wanted to end the season on a high note with success on the oldest-operating temporary street course race in North American auto racing, the major storyline for the season finale was the drivers’ championship. Entering the race with a comfortable lead, Spanish racer Alex Palou is looking to put a cap on what has been a dream season in his first year joining the Chip Ganassi Racing team with a finish of 12th place or better.


Arriving at the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach with a mathematical chance at the championship, Josef Newgarden took the pole position on the street course. Newgarden’s Chevrolet-powered #2 Team Penske car remained at the front for the opening 18 laps of the event. Starting third at Long Beach, the 2021 Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves inherited the lead holding it through a pair of caution periods. When Castroneves’ #06 Meyer Shank Racing pitted, Colton Herta had obtained the lead after making passes on Scott Dixon and Josef Newgarden following a lap 30 restart. The young American driver of the #26 Andretti Autosport race car remained in the top spot through the latter half of the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach. Cycling back to the front after a final round of pit stops, Herta and his Honda-propelled race car kept Newgarden behind him as he took victory by 0.5883 seconds. Coming from 14th position after a difficult qualifying outing, Colton Herta’s second consecutive win further emphasizes the standout season for the 21-year-old competitor.

Though Herta enjoyed victory in the season finale for the NTT IndyCar Series, Alex Palou celebrated his first championship title in only his sophomore year on the tour. Palou’s finish of fourth place more than solidified his championship-clinching effort aided also by early race trouble for nearest rival Pato O’Ward. O’Ward’s chance for the season-long title faded on the opening lap after Ed Jones’ #18 car made contact with the #5 Arrow McLaren SP machine.

Behind Newgarden, Scott Dixon secured a podium position in the #9 machine between Josef Newgarden and teammate Alex Palou. Behind Palou, Simon Pagenaud drove the #22 Team Penske machine to fifth place in what was the Frenchman’s final outing with the organization. Pagenaud was recently confirmed to be joining Meyer Shank Racing as a teammate to Helio Castroneves for the 2022 IndyCar Series campaign. Prior to the season-end announcement for Pagenaud, he was one of several winning IndyCar drivers who faced uncertainty for next season. Ryan Hunter-Reay also drove his final race in Long Beach with the Andretti Autosport #28 team where he won the series championship back in 2012 as well as the 2014 Indianapolis 500. Canadian and six-time IndyCar winner James Hinchcliffe also has no confirmed plans for the 2022 season.


Popular posts from this blog

Verstappen Wins French Grand Prix Thanks To Late Race Hustle

Photo Credit: Zak Mauger/LAT Images/Pirelli untitled An event first held back in 1906 and reinstated on the Formula 1 calendar in 2018, the French Grand Prix has been dominated by Lewis Hamilton and the Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula One Team in the previous two outings. However, the 2021 edition of the race on the Circuit Paul Ricard served as another outing in this current season where Mercedes and Hamilton would be challenged by Red Bull Racing led by the sports’ young superstar Max Verstappen. A rivalry presently living up to hopes a true race-after-race battle, the two top drivers in Formula 1 exchanged their advantages throughout the grand prix weekend in France. After almost certain victory at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix was foiled by a sudden tire failure while leading on the Baku City Circuit, Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen appears regrouped for Formula 1's seventh round at the Circuit Paul Ricard. At the top of the lap time chart during the latter two practi

Will NASCAR's Next Gen Car Development Avoid Mistakes Made With CoT?

  Photo Credit: James Gilbert/Getty Images untitled On Wednesday of this week (May 5 th of 2021), NASCAR will formally present the sport’s newest Cup Series chariot. Originally called the Gen 7 car before adopting the moniker of the Next Gen car, the vehicle was initially planned to be part of the 2021 racing season but was pushed to 2022 due to the declaration of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020 disrupting development as well as team finances to implement the Next Gen car. From the details already leaked about the Next Gen car, the 2022 Cup season is destined to deliver the biggest learning curve ever to drivers, team and fans. Ahead of the official unveiling of the car, indications of a new spec chassis, six-speed manual transmission, independent rear suspension as well as a larger diameter, single-lug wheels are radically going to reshape the operations of NASCAR Cup Series teams on and off the track. With anticipation building towards the planned on-track introduct

Verstappen Achieves Two Wins in Two Weekends in Austria

untitled Photo Credit: Clive Rose/Getty Images/Red Bull Content Pool At the beginning of the 2021 Formula 1 season, it was hoped upon by many parties that Red Bull Racing would mount a consistently competitive battle with the juggernaut that is the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team. Although that seemed to have been the case in the earlier grand prix events in 2021, the races since the Monaco Grand Prix has instead shown Red Bull Racing potentially rediscovering their pre-2014 form while displacing the long dominant German factory team. Ahead of the Austrian Grand Prix, the squad fielding drivers Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez has been on a four-race win streak. Claiming three of the victories in Red Bull Racing’s recent tear is Verstappen who entered the second race of the season at the 4.318-kilometer Red Bull Ring course winner of the previous week’s Styrian Grand Prix . Though Mercedes-AMG showed the potential of matching their Honda-powered rival on pace through two o